I Want a New Drug


“I want a new drug, one that won’t make me sick…
One that won’t make me crash my car, make me feel three-feet thick.”

Our man Huey Lewis (and his News) had already burned up the charts with 1982’s “Do You Believe in Love?” and in ’83 with “Heart & Soul”, but it wasn’t until the early weeks of 1984 that he finally provided us with a rip-roaring, toe-tapping pop song.

“I Want a New Drug” was a very welcome departure from the slower-tempo, bluesy tunes that were the norm from Mr. Lewis to that point, and, of course, a fun video in heavy rotation over at MTV never hurt anything. (Who among us can forget ol’ Huey dunking his face into a sink full of ice water? And what’s up with that girl riding a bike in her aerobics get-up? Who does that?)

“I Want a New Drug” didn’t top the charts, but it did reach #6 in February 1984, making it Huey’s biggest hit to date and the biggest hit he would have until more than a year later, when a little ditty called “The Power of Love” would invade our radios in the summer of 1985.

The story of “I Want a New Drug” isn’t complete, though, without mention of the Ghostbusters brouhaha. When Ray Parker Jr.’s hip theme song to the Bill Murray movie (which we, duh, love!) first hit our ears, we couldn’t help but notice the two songs sounded eerily similar. Turns out a judge agreed, and ordered Mr. Parker to compensate Mr. Lewis for the theft of his song.

It’s okay, Ray. We know you couldn’t help it. You just knew what we’ve known all along: “I Want a New Drug” is just so awesome, you can’t help but want it for your own.

We ♥ I Want a New Drug.

~ by weheart80s on March 2, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
