Eddie Murphy

“You don’t have no iiiiiice cream, you didn’t get none…”

Kids, gather ’round, and let me tell you a story about one of the funniest men who ever lived.

Once upon a time, there was a man named Eddie Murphy, and he–– what’s that, sweetie? Uh, no it’s not the same guy from Daddy Day Care… Huh?… No, I’m not sure why they have the same name. Stop interrupting.

Anyway, back in the early 1980s he was a stand-up comedian, and he got his big break on a silly little show called Saturday Night Live. He played Gumby (dammit!), and Buckwheat, and a whole bunch of other really funny characters. I’m tellin’ you, kids–– he was great.

You see, he had this laugh that kinda sounded like a trained seal at the zoo. And, man, did this guy have a mouth on him. Cuss words left and right, night and day. I don’t think there was a–– hmm? No I can’t give you any examples! The man was filthy!

So in 1982 he hit the big screen in a movie called 48 Hours (“There’s a new sheriff in town. And his name… is Reggie Hammond. So y’all be cool. Right on.”) From there he starred in Trading Spaces (“When I was growing up, if we wanted a Jacuzzi, we had to fart in the tub.”), and then, let’s see… we had Delirious (with that little ‘ice cream’ bit I mentioned earlier), Best Defense with Dudley Moore, and then, kids? Well, then it was time for Beverly Hills Cop.

Children, in the annals of history there have been few movies as funny as Beverly Hills Cop. In fact, some friends of mine over at ‘Best of the 80s’ wrote about it on their blog. Great stuff…

Anyway, he had some more great movies in the mid-80s: The Golden Child, Beverly Hills Cop II… and then in 1987 came Raw. And, kids, it was raw. Profanity off the charts! Seriously, this guy said the ‘f’ word like you and I say ‘hello’. I remember when I was your age and listening to this–– What? Okay, fine… but if your mother ever finds out I showed you this, you’re gonna be grounded for… ever!

See what I mean, kids? Dude was crazy!

And he absolutely ruled the 80s. In fact, he was the decade’s 2nd biggest star, only behind Clint Eastwood.

Yes, kids, I know he sounds like Shrek’s donkey, but it’s not him. Ain’t no way my Eddie Murphy is doing cartoon voices. No sir.

Not my Eddie Murphy.

We ♥ Eddie Murphy.

~ by weheart80s on August 12, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
