I Wanna Be a Cowboy

“Riding on the range. I’ve got my hat… on. I’ve got my boots… dusty.”

As wild and crazy as the 80s were, we really didn’t get much in the way of novelty songs. Sure, the 50s and 60s (and even 70s) were full of stuff like “Purple People Eater”, “They’re Coming to Take Me Away”, and “Hello Muddah, Hello Faddah”… but outside of a few Weird Al tunes, what did we really have? I mean, would you consider “Rock Me Amadeus” a novelty tune?

Us neither.

So, imagine our surprise when “I Wanna Be a Cowboy” started burrowing itself into our skulls in 1986. The (dare we say it) LOL song from Boys Don’t Cry was a stroke of genius.

In the days and weeks where sentimental stuff like “Live to Tell” and “No One is to Blame” were riding high, how could you not chuckle to yourself whenever the saga of dusty-booted Ted and his dirty-haired lady hit your ears?

“I Wanna Be a Cowboy” never amounted to much… it only made it to #12 on the charts, and it was gone before you knew it–– barely qualifying as BDC’s one and only hit.

But if you ever need a quick shot of spaghetti western nonsense, well–– have we got a song for you.

“My name is Ted, and one day I’ll be dead, yo yo…”

We ♥ I Wanna Be A Cowboy.

~ by weheart80s on January 25, 2012.

One Response to “I Wanna Be a Cowboy”

  1. who is the girl in “i wanna be a cowboy”??!!!

Leave a Reply

 
