Sex (I’m A…)

“Feel the fire, feel my love inside you, it’s so right. There’s the sound and the smell of love in my mind…”

You learned all we needed to know about the birds and the bees (for the time being) in 5th grade Health class.

But if you needed the perfect supplement, well… Berlin was there for you in 1983 with “Sex (I’m A…)”.

Even though the, er, colorful ditty had limited radio airplay, MTV wasn’t afraid to play it. And if you were somehow able to smuggle Berlin’s album Pleasure Victim past your parents and into your room, you were golden.

Just like that, your vocabulary got all kinds of saucy, and you had plenty of obscene terms to throw at your friends over the cafeteria lunch table.

Seriously… if it’s been a while since you heard this little slice of raunch, it’s time to re-educate yourself.

A few of the highlights:
“Slip and slide in your wet delight, feel the blood flow…”
“Skin to skin, tongue to oooh! Come on honey hold tight…”
“Drink your fill from my fountain of love, wet your lips…”

(Not to mention, of course, the whole “I’m a geisha… I’m a little girl… I’m a blue movie…” chorus.

Ooooooh, yes! Baby!

“Sex (I’m A…)” wasn’t Berlin’s biggest hit (We’d have to wait until 1986’s “Take My Breath Away” for that), and it’s not even the best song on Pleasure Victim (Hello, “The Metro”)… but for sheer shock value backed by some of the early 80s finest synth action, you simply can’t do any better.

In all, it only spent 7 weeks on the charts, peaking at #62 in March of 1983, but it will always have a special place in our hearts (and other body parts) as one of the 80s most memorable songs.

Whew. We need a cigarette.

We ♥ Sex (I’m A…)

~ by weheartthe80s on August 8, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
